Election 2018

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

This page will serve as a central location to find current Election 2018 Information and final results. It will be updated on a regular basis. In the event that you have any further questions please contact Tracey Martinez, Deputy City Clerk, at 760-770-0322 or email at tmartinez@cathedralcity.gov .

Cathedral City will hold a General Municipal Election on November 6, 2018. This is the first By-District Election that will be held in Cathedral City.  This Election a Council Member for District 3, District 4, and District 5, will each be elected to serve a four year term.  A City Treasurer will also be elected at-large for a four year term.  Per the recently adopted City Charter, the Mayor will no longer be an elected position.  The Mayor and Mayor Pro Tem will be rotating positions.  The process for the rotation have been established by Ordinance 790

Nomination Period is now open and closes on August 10, 2018. The City Clerk’s office hours for the purpose of this Election are Monday through Thursday 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. City Hall is closed every Friday.

All nomination documents must be obtained and filed in the City Clerk’s Department, located at 68-700 Avenida Lalo Guerrero, Cathedral City, during the above noted business hours. An appointment is not required, however, it is highly recommended. Nomination documents will only be issued to the Candidate or an individual that has written authorization from the Candidate to do so on their behalf. It is the Candidate’s responsibility to ensure that all of the required documents are received in the filing office no later than 6:00 p.m. on August 9, 2018.

Any person wishing to hold any elective office within the City must be at least 18 years of age and a registered voter of the City of Cathedral City on the day nomination papers are pulled and must remain a resident voter the entire term of office. You cannot run for elected office if you have been convicted of a felony involving accepting or giving, or offering to give, any bribe, the embezzlement of public money, extortion or theft of public money, perjury, or conspiracy to commit any of those crimes.

 The District Map is available by clicking the link below:

District Map